Frontier

By Frontier

Rear Windows

Bernard Herrman - Vertigo Main Theme

I'm a big Alfred Hitchcock fan, not as much as others but I have a genuine love for many of his movies, especially his famous ones. My father encouraged me to watch his movies when I was about 8-9 years old. I remember seeing the second version of The Man Who Knew Too Much when I was about 7 or so and loved it. The suspense and visual imagery was astounding, especially when the first murder occurred. I was traumatised after watching Marnie, when the big reveal at the end shocked the living pants off of me, I was 8 at the time. I saw Psycho when I was about 9 and like everyone else, I couldn't walk into a shower. The top light of the killers head has been imprinted onto my brain forever.

I have fond memories of watching Hitchock films with my mum on school nights whilst she was doing the ironing. The smell of the ironing and the mono sound quality have such unmatched sensory stimulation. His films always make me think and the humour is also unexpectedly jovial.

My top five favourite Hitchcock films:

1. Vertigo
2. North by Northwest
3. Psycho
4. Rear Window
5. Frenzy

I also love Rope and Dial M for Murder. The Wrong Man was simply too depressing to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.