Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Epic

When Mr EG asked me if I wanted to go the 'interesting' way up Ben Nevis, I should have known better than to say yes! After a hot, sticky and midgey start, we left the main path and dropped down into a river valley losing most of the height we had just slogged up. Then we spent the next couple of hours trudging up our first munro. We did however have amazing views of the North face of Ben Nevis. Then came the 'interesting' bit, negotiating a very long ridge with an almighty drop down one side and an almighty drop down the other. Considering I am not the best with heights I was terrified and about half way along the ridge I didn't think I could go forward or back. After a rant at Mr EG, a few tears and a pep talk, I did finally manage it. We then had to negotaite a large boulder field before finally reaching the top 8 hours in and exhasted. Seeing the boring tourist route on the way down, where you don't get to see the mountain you are climbing, just rubble fields, I was sort of glad that Mr EG had taken us the interesting way, but I don't know if my legs will ever be the same again! Loads of snow on the top, which was bizarre considering we were putting on factor 30 suncream when we set out at 9am this morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.