Foxy's Folio

By KF

Unity

The theme for Day 24 of woollyhedge's October On This Day Challenge.is Unity (1945: UN Charter ratified in New York)


Neither the weather nor the energy for creative blipping this afternoon and, given the rather unprepossessing exterior of the building, this close up of the lamp at the entrance to the local Unity Club was the best I could come up with! The interior is quite pleasant and it's a popular venue for functions, especially given the price of drinks!

However, it got me thinking that I didn't know much about it or its origins other than that it was founded in 1922, and I haven't been able to find much on the internet: there seem to be a number of Unity Clubs in the UK and USA but whether they share common origins, aims, etc. I haven't been able to discover. Anyone know anything more?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.