Photos of things I see

By Aboak

Occupy the Square

Edinburgh is witnessing the beginning of its own contribution to the Occupy the Streets movement.

Momentum is building. This time last week I counted 8 tents. Now there's double that and a gazebo! Plenty of signs denoting anger towards bankers and the current political system.

Curiosity got the better of me, so I popped along - ironically after having done some banking - to sample the simmering resentment for myself. It was all very polite and good natured.

After taking some photos, I even got questioned by some students from the University of Edinburgh who were conducting a survey on people's political awareness.

This photo shows the headquarters of RBS in the background overlooking the demo in St. Andrew Square. I wonder if its occupants gaze down on the tents and ponder the contribution their superiors made to today's stormy economic climate?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.