8:30

By eightthirty

foggy top

8:30pm and into the garage I go to spend a little time on a few bikes.

Mrs theWeir's needs a new front tyre fitted as the previous had split. Age-related. One of the brake calliper arms was a little stiff too, so stripped it down and greased it all up. Also age-related.

My Ridgeback (backup commuting bike) needed a new set of front brake blocks. Distance-related. And similarly, a front brake calliper was a little stiff. Tyres re-presurised and ready for action.

My Boardman was in need of some tyre work owing to a split appearing in the rear tyre while riding down a fast hill at 20+ mph (http://instagr.am/p/RUE5E/). No one was harmed, and after a little investigation I realised it wasn't a fixer, but the tyre needed replaced. Phoned home and commenced walking.

One of the bonuses of having bought a second car for the winter was the space to pack in a bike. Mrs theWeir came to my rescue. 7 miles was looking like a long walk, despite the brightness of the evening.

Fortuntately, I kept the old Maxxis Detonators that were on the bike when I bought it three (!) years ago, so have been able to use one of those on the front, moving the much Conti CityRide to the back (it's in a much healthier state than it's equivalent on the back).

After a day where my head had felt like it was in a fog of green split pea soup (hmmm....soup), it was nice to feel like progress was made.

Always like a bit of progress.

***

The Maxxis detonators are able to handle 120psi. Which is a lot of psi. Given part of my route to/from work is over cobbles, I didn't inflate to that pressure...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.