Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

A Year Ago Today



We arrived at Heathrow Airport, London on a one-way ticket from Johannesburg, South Africa, it all felt so unreal, as it was no easy task to leave SA for loads of different reasons, and here we were finally on British soil.

It's exactly a year on today, and although I have no regrets because I now feel safer and know my family are too, I feel really frustrated that we have been 'battling' for a year to feel 'settled', I had hoped that it would have happened sooner, because for 3yrs before we left SA, I didn't feel 'settled' because of the waiting for someone to buy our house so we could leave. All I want is to feel settled in a house I could call 'home', maybe a family pet or two, a stable income, and some friends - it's not asking too much, is it?.

Anyway, I am a positive person and I do always try to look on the 'bright side' and tend to ignore my feelings and push them to the back of my head (probably why I get so many headaches!) but today, I can't help but feel a bit 'sad' for not achieving what I had thought we'd have achieved by now.

On a brighter note; Aiden has her last anti-epilepsy tablet tonight, the weaning process is finally over and so far so good, I am so relieved that after 8yrs of medication that we have reached this point, it's something that I've dreamed and wished for, for a long long time, so something to really smile about and her body can have a break from the chemicals at long last - yippeeee!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.