Mostly stuff

By Ailsabm

All that jazz

I slept for 9.5 hours last night but was still absolutely exhausted by 3:30. The tests yesterday clearly took their toll. No news yet on whether I made it.

Once again I wasn't in the mood for burlesque class but I'm glad I went. The prop was a hat, and the class culminated in the class lined up, doing hat moves in cannonball formation, sliding with jazz hands, step kicking and making a pretty damn straight pinwheel. All of this to 'all that jazz' from Chicago. Great fun.

The hat is special to me. During this year's Fringe we became so attached to one show in particular. The Spaces Between, by the amazing Australian cabaret duo The Jane Austen Argument (Tom Dickins and Jen Kingwell), explored the emotion held within the spaces, to name a few, between people, places, experiences, and our ideal selves and our aspirational selves. We saw the show four times, and I sat with the band and friends drinking wine on Carlton Hill as they played an impromptu twitnic. After the final show, Tom and Jen, who were about to tour Europe, gave away props from the show, including this hat, to new fans and friends.

One of the show's main messages was just to embrace who we are and go it, no matter what we want to do, because life is too short. It's one of the things that inspired me to take the class, so using that hat over my others seemed appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.