Juleshki

By Juleshki

On fire...

Smoke billowing and swirling up into the cold morning air.
On fire?...

No. Thank goodness. It did stop me in my tracks though and at one point I turned round and doubled back on myself. It was only when I realised that the smoke was intermittent and was coming from a garden bonfire that I continued on my way.

So, where was I....? Ah yes, i-n-c-r-e-d-i-b-l-y cold out there on the towpath this morning, even with the big bright thing blazing away up in the sky. It did nothing to warm my extremities with the temperature barely getting into double figures and the chilly wind making it feel a lot less than that.

A barge was making its way through the locks; the family taking it through were all wearing life jackets, which is not something I see very often on the canal, but a wise choice bearing in mind how icy cold the water must have been this morning.

And what about the lone fisherman sat upon his kit box just beyond the lock?
How long would he be able to sit there for, staring at the chilly water, whilst slowing turning blue?

I can manage a bit of crab lining. Although not around here and not this time of year.

My favourite spot for this activity is down by the quay next to The River Shack Cafe at Stoke Gabriel, South Devon. How to keep an 11 year successfully amused for hours... and also one husband.

Beam me up Scotty and put me down somewhere around here. That will do nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.