Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Mo' 'fro!

I'm a shy and retiring type, not given to walking up to strangers on the street and asking whether I can take a picture of them.

But when I saw this dandy young gentleman today something remarkable happened!

At first I walked past, admiring his Afro and cursing my timidity. Then I 'had a word with myself' and turned around. I loitered for a while in his general vicinity hoping for a chance to take a sneaky shot when he wasn't looking. No decent opportunity was forthcoming. Plus, I probably looked decidedly shifty!

So, finally, I steeled myself for rejection, approached him and mumbled something like "Excuse me, I really love your hair, would you mind if I took a photo of you?"

He was charm itself and posed quite happily!

I was too cowardly to take more than one shot though and this isn't as sharp as I'd have wished for but still... it's the bravest thing I've ever done in pursuit of a blip and now, several hours later, I'm still amazed at my sudden show of chutzpah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.