The Poss

By PossMan

Nairn Church

Fairly bright day so after walking a bit along the River Nairn banks downstream from Howfords Bridge went into Nairn itself where the riverside path starts. There's an old kirkyard (Nairn Riverside Kirkyard) which unusually for these places was chained shut. But I gained access over the low wall (once this would have been "easy-peasy" but now a challenge). The church is ruined. I think the burial ground is probably unused as there were no signs of recent flowers etc and as I said it was chained up. In the Highland region I've always been surprised at how well kept old burial grounds are even when out "in the sticks", and many are still in occassional use. Although I walk along Nairn beach from time to time this is the first time I've visited this part of the town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.