Seeing is believing

By hoover

Tick Tock

Blipping clocks and recent events have got me thinking about time.

I've just realised I've lived here for five years. For something which was supposed to be a quick profit making exercise I've stuck around a lot longer than I intended.

Plans for regeneration encouraged me to buy into a much less affluent area than I was used to. Not too long after buying, the market value of my property more than doubled. If I'd sold up even 2-3 years ago I'd have been sorted financially. But for some reason I stayed on.

In the last few months I've noticed prices round here have fallen by 10-15k. Will things get better or worse? Does anyone know?

My vocabulary certainly isn't improving, I've recently said "proper good" a few times. I miss having a garden. I miss having BBQ's. I miss living in a house instead of a flat. I miss having a driveway for my car. I miss having a good postcode so my insurance premiums aren't through the roof.

However I enjoy being near the good friends I've made in this area. I enjoy being able to walk/drunkenly stagger to friends' houses. I like being five minutes from Newcastle City Centre. I like the fact I can come home at lunch time to walk Hoover. I love the fact Saltwell Park is at the bottom of my street.

All this is why five years on, I'm still going in a circle of 'should I stay or should I go?'.

It's also nearly 5 years since I started my current job. I enjoyed it back then.
5 years since I went to New York.
5 years since I got engaged.
Six years since I got Hoover
An unbelievable 1 month since I was in Las Vegas. It feels like last week!
I turn 30 in just over two months time. Hells bells.

Where is the time going?!

Watches are so named as a reminder
- if you don't watch carefully what you do with your time
it will slip away from you.

You can't change the past, but you can ruin the present by worrying about the future


My motto : live for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.