stupid things

Interesting, Write-up not added until 31/10 and the RoSPA-tastic mug-on-stairs was not the stupid thing I intended to refer to.

I have griped before about my stupid compact bike frame for various reasons. The lack of availability of places to attach lights was always a bit of a problem, especially when I started carrying my cable lock in a saddlepack, and is now exacerbated by occasionally having a child-seat attached (which blocks anything attached to the seatpost, were there any room left) and using a pannier (which blocks anything attached to the right chainstay, which seems to be the side to which all my light's brackets were designed to attach). The chainstay was already of slightly limited use as my feet extended to the rear of the pedals sufficiently to occasionally kick lights out of alignment. A standard rack-fitting light would have to be detached each time the childseat was put in place. A standard mudguard-fitting light would be shaken and waggled loose within a few feet of the front door and would be tricksy to port between bikes. I have so far had four cunning plans for creating a quickly-released method of attaching rear lights in a way to make them visible whilst wearing and not intruding on the space occupied by either seat of pannier, all of which have been non-implementable due to various irritating reasons involving the standards of manufacture of the various things I've been trying to coerce into being part of a quick-release rear-light-attachment system. There are a few more things yet to try which ought to work and will allow me to resume using my TL-AU100BS and therefore also my various sets-of-two AA rechargeables.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.