A Let Down

I made a cake this morning.

No ordinary cake
A gluten free cake
A coeliac friendly cake
A fail proof cake
A tried and tested cake

A cake made with oranges and almonds
A mixture so promising
An hour in the oven

The testing skewer came out clean

It lied

My cake has let me down
It is a fallen cake.
Its rump is damp

I will have to be creative again
And operate to fill its soggy bits with fruit

Nothing changes
I will not give up the day job.

With is Lordship paying his respects at the funeral of a National Service pal in Aberdeen, I am a free agent with all the time and space that theoretical physics human psychology can handle until this evening.

This baking bowl is just over 48 years old. It's as heavy as hell. I thought you'd like to know.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.