A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

The day of Truth

"One kind word can warm three winter months." The words I heard this morning will hopefully see me through the next five years.I understand that' five years' isn't like taking an elevator to another level where we can be totally relaxed. But hopefully my consciousness will change. It might allow me to take a deeper breath.Yes, 5 is good and 10 will be better. But 15+ will give me something to celebrate. I'm holding out for 20!" Once you choose hope, anything is possible.
It was an early rise this morning and the mist hung heavy on the air when we left for the hospital.Today was the day of truth.I was hoping to be given the all clear after five years of cancer treatment.The news was good, yet I was left feeling confused, lost even.This was the day I had been waiting for yet the fear still lies within.
I received beautiful flowers from my husband and children, without whose love and constant support I would have been lost,so a photograph of the blooms from them was the order of the day, a reminder of how close we are as a family, and how important they all are to me.I have to add the attached care instructions as I was amused by them .It read as follows:
IN THE SAME WAY AS YOU WANT TO TAKE OFF YOUR COAT AND LAY DOWN YOUR BAG, YOUR FLOWERS WANT TO RELIEVE THEMSELVES OF EXCESS BAGGAGE TOO, SO REMOVE ALL PACKAGING.WHILE RELAXATION IS IMPORTANT, YOU NEED TO KEEP YOUR FLOWERS ON THEIR TOES SO CUT 3 CM OFF THE STEMS.DRINKS AND SNACKS ALL ROUND, SO ADD THE SACHET OF PLANT FOOD TO THE WATER.WATER IS THE RED WINE OF THE FLOWER SO SERVE AT ROOM TEMPERATURE. ARRANGE THE FLOWERS IN A VASE, THEN SETTLE YOUR GUESTS SOMEWHERE THEY WILL FEEL WELCOME, AWAY FROM DRAUGHTS, RADIATORS, FRUIT AND BRIGHT LIGHTS, SOMEWHERE YOU'LL ENJOY THEIR COMPANY AND REMEMBER TO TAKE CARE OF THEM.PLAY THE PERFECT HOST BY CHANGING THE WATER EVERY FEW DAYS.FEEL FREE TO TALK TO YOUR FLOWERS BUT BE CAREFUL NOT TO CAUSE UNEASE TO OTHER GUESTS WHO MIGHT BE VISITING.
So time to relax and take stock of today's events so far, before heading to the station to pick up our son who is joining us to celebrate for a couple of days .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.