Red Squirrel

By JJRW

October Origins: The Storyteller ...

My first priority from my first pay-packet after leaving school in '72 was an Afghan coat - but I wanted a black one, not a boring old beige one like almost everyone else had! As ever, I just HAD to be different. A mooch round Kensington Market (ahh, wonderful place it was then .... a frequent haunt) revealed just the one black one. It was a bit on the big side but I had to have it - and the size proved an advantage as it was perfect over much thicker winter clothing. And so, although now a stone and a half heavier than then (I think I must have been a size 0, lol), I can still get into it - and so sometimes still wear it. Sadly the embroidery which was once beautiful pastel colours is faded and duller. This coat could tell so many stories - it's been with me to most of the gigs and festivals shown on my 'tickets blip' of 20th Sepember, plus those that aren't represented there. For many years it was my almost constant companion when out and about. I wore it when I got married. So that really makes it special.
It's been to lots of places and had lots of fun in its time but is now sadly getting on a bit, has seen better days and is becoming rather old, tatty and worse for wear - it's much like its owner really! lol. But it's very precious to me, could tell the story of much of my life and it's part of me. My plan is when I finally am dragged kicking and screaming shuffle off this planet that I'll be cremated in it. It's coming with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.