Woohoo!

Despite my big rant yesterday (I'm still livid), I had something to cheer me up today. It actually arrived yesterday but I clearly had other things on my mind plus I didn't actually get a chance to listen to it until today.

I've listened to it twice now and it's awfully good. First impressions are that it won't pip either Blue Valentine or Mule Variations into my favourite two albums but there's a high chance that it will grow on me. There are some great songs, but on cursory listen none in quite the same class as "Hold on", "Get behind the mule", "Red shoes by the drugstore" or "$29.00".

I hope it doesn't sound like I'm putting it down because it's very, very good it's just athte he's set such an enormously high standard in his previous work.

If you're a fan I'd highly recommend getting it as soon as you can!

Edit: This made me want to listen to some more Tom Waits. I don't want to spoil teh new album for any fans who don't have it yesterday, so here's one that's right up there amongst my favourites of his.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.