Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Only Way is Up

"We kept on ascending, with occasional periods of quick descent, but in the main always ascending."

- Bram Stoker's Dracula


Or alternatively...

"The only way is up!"

- Yazz


Inspired by Kinda Horrigans, I have started a secondary blip journal, Occasionally Processed, to house the unmodified versions of my blips. Here's today's.

I took one photo today. Well, not quite true: I did take and then delete one looking down the road as I walked to work. So, I kept one photo today. ;-)

As I arrived almost at work, I spied on the ground the writing of someone who it seems wanted to make it very clear that "up" is what is needed. ;-) I think it probably has something to do with roadworks, rather than a graffiti artist trying to make a subtle philosophical point, as there are other markings on the road in similar white spray paint, and two spray-painted lines (not in this picture) extending forward from the footpath on each side of the bench, to the kerb.

I took it rather hurriedly, as I wanted to get off the road ;-) Consequently the exposure was probably not absolutely ideal, but with a bit of tweaking I think it turned out ok.

After a first crack with Filterstorm, I used Snapseed to get a second take on the B&W possibilities, as despite its exif-mangling and resolution-halving ways, it does some nice B&W conversions. ;-) I then set about improving what I did in Filterstorm, based on the things I preferred in the Snapseed conversion. In the end, I'm quite happy with it.

Large version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.