Spur Winged (Masked) Plover II

I was going to blip a tui as I got some great captures of one this evening, while we were out for dinner. But it's Kiwilizzie's turn to blip one today.

So I have decided on a different subject. The photo itself is poor but I am pretty excited about the birds themselves. Earlier in the day, in a completely different place from yesterday, I spotted a plover family. It's the first time I've ever seen plover babies so I was pretty chuffed. There were Mum and Dad and the triplets.

Mum and Dad were keeping them well away from the crazy lady with the camera and I was having trouble focussing at that distance and with the long grass getting in my way, hence the very poor quality - still if it weren't for my whopper lens I wouldn't have got anything at all.

For those of you who don't know our plover, at least here you can see the 'mask' that you couldn't see in yesterday's rear end shot. In large you can just see the baby's mask beginning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.