Jack James

By JackJames

Library Bar

This is the Library Bar in Teviot, one of Edinburgh University's 4 student unions. This is where I work the majority of the time - either pulling pints, or taking food from the kitchens to the tables.

The chefs are Polish, and always chatting - I'd love to be able to see what they're on about, they seem like nice guys! Learnt that 'Tak' means yes.

An American man came to the bar today, asked for a Tennant's and a flight home. I asked why the flight home? He said he'd had quite possibly the worst day/night he could imagine, and wasn't a fan of Scotland or the Scottish. Again, I asked what was up? He told me:

"So I was walking down the streets, next to where they're doing the cement works. Next thing I know, there's a huge whoosh and I'm getting blasted with concrete from a tube. It scratched me up pretty bad, and I had to go to hospital"

That's pretty bad, I said.

"That's not the end of it! I came out of the hospital and my eyes were sill giving me grief. I told a nice unassuming man who offered me an Asprin out of a packet, so I took it. It wasn't an asprin. I woke up 4 hours later after being beaten, robed and almost raped. I don't like Scotland."

I din't know what to say. He sat at a table and looked at the table through the murky pint.

Lesson: Don't take Asprin from men you don't know on the Royal Mile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.