Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Cloning factory

I spent this afternoon at a meeting in the Wellcome Trust. I had to remove myself from the meeting for half an hour or so because of a potential conflict of interest. During this time I was asked to wait in an adjoining room. On one of the walls was an arrangement of what appeared to be jelly babies in a large glass case. It turns out to be a piece of art called 'Cloning Factory' by Mauro Peruchetti and was create in 2002. According to the label the 'massed urethane jelly babies conjure up the spectre of an identikit society. The work hints at the unpredictable consequences of cloning, encouraging contemplation of its medical benefits, the possible risks and the ethical questions thrown up by this most controversial science'. I bet there's another one just like it somewhere else.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.