Sunrise on Leith

It was pretty pitch black when I got down to the harbour; a few winking lights from head-torches indicated where people were getting their boats ready. I got over to the boat and motored it back, flashing my torch to keep clear of mooring buoys and ropes. By the time I was back ashore, the sky in the east was lightening.
So, a long day of lifting the club boats; got the wee Ouzel lifted at the back of 10am. Later, I was called over by Joe who was power-washing all the boats' undersides. There, bang in the middle was a small hole, dripping water - the cause of the flood two weeks back. I imagine the boat must have settled down directly on the mooring. If it had been a clean burst, it would have sunk her. It's easily mended but I'm now worried that it could recur at any time. Surely not? I must go and inspect the mooring at low tide.
Finally got away at 5:30pm. A long day as I said, but as I drove past the Diggers and saw the throng therein, I just knew that a pint would provide the perfect ending.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.