Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

The Autumn of...

... Great Content

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1496789]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

I don't know if you can see, but this image isn't quite like the final one - the face is sharp but the paws aren't. It's actually three images blended together to stack the focus - making sure that the bits of the image I wanted to be sharp, were sharp. So, I took three images - image 1 sharply focused on her face. Image 2, on her left paw. Image 3, on her right paw. Then, in photoshop I took all three images and copied them into a single image (making three layers). Selecting all of the layers I used Edit > Auto Align and then selecting them all again, chose Edit > Auto Blend - and used the focus stacking option here. After that, I flattened the three layers into one.

Then, converted to black and white using Silver Efex Pro and a slight warm tone. Finally, a tiny bit of sharpening before flattening and saving.

Tip of the Day:
If you want to see the 'how to' of Focus Stacking then take a look at How to Increase your Depth of Field by Focus Stacking - don't worry about the software, but look at the principle of what's being explained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.