A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Golden Glamis

I have previously mentioned some of the ghostly goings on at Glamis. The photo then was actually of Craigmillar Castle which is handily close in the way that Glamis isn't. Today we got to go and visit the real thing, courtesy of a friend who took us there! I was very excited.

Guttingly you are not allowed to take photographs indoors but the tour was very interesting. Our friend was hoping to see the ghost of the lady without a tongue but was disappointed on this occasion. However we, or rather I - did have a slightly spooky encounter. I am quite a veteran of ghost tours and ghost hunts and do not normally get any sort of funny feelings about places. In fact, I normally find most "haunted" rooms to be quite pleasant and relaxing. Not so the chapel in Glamis. It is a fantastic place with walls and ceiling all painted with bible scenes and depictions of Jesus and the Apostles. And I felt it would be brilliant to have your own chapel. But although everyone in the tour sat down and I felt a bit foolish standing up, I did NOT want to sit down. It just felt very wrong. In complete contrast, my husband plonked himself right in the seat that was said to be occupied by a ghost! WhooOOOOOooo! :-)

Something else that was rather interesting was that the guide did not mention the story of the Monster of Glamis. Our friend who has been before a couple of times said that they have never mentioned it. Too silly to even be bothered with? Or shockingly close to the truth??

Extremely difficult to choose a photo. This is some of the fringe round a beech canopy in the Italian Garden. This is what you see when you turn round. Really beautiful and filled with tiny Goldcrests. Quite magical.

I am now an even bigger fan of Glamis. Would I live there in the most haunted house in Scotland? My goodness yes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.