Encontrando el Mundo

By Mari

Noche de Brujas!

So although there is no such thing as Halloween out here in Buenos Aires, the Pals from my university out here were nice enough to throw together a lil' shindig to give all the foreign students their Halloween fix, haha :) So the picture above is my costume, I was a Catarina like those from some of Diego Rivera's paintings and they are also associated with Dia de los Muertos. Hence, no one knew what I was, haha :) Being a Latin American studies major, this is my nerdy costume. It's the equivalent of how my mom, a chemistry teacher, dresses up as an evil scientist each year. I think it turned out well :)

*I would like to note that I was the ONLY person in the club that night in full face paint. Only some of the foreign exchange students dressed up and absolutely none of the Argentinians were in costume. I love Halloween :)

** "Noche de Brujas" is "Halloween" in Spanish. Although most people call it Halloween out here still.

*** Although Halloween isn't a Argentinian holiday, there are a bunch of places (clubs and bars and such) who "celebrate" the holiday. Here is a link to a website in English that gives you info about some of these places:

http://www.buenosaires4u.com/2011/10/freaky-halloween-in-buenos-aires.html

and here is another link to a helpful website about Barrio Once, the place in the city to go to find costumes!:

http://www.paisonce.com.ar/elbarrio.php
(NOTE: this website is in Spanish.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.