Today's Special

By Connections

A Very Full Last Day

Our last day in Roujan! The time went far too quickly.

We had the great good fortune to watch - and even help a little, as well as photograph - the pressing of one of the Le Couvent wines. Done by hand, it was a fascinating process - you can see some highlights here. I took a turn pressing - briefly, nowhere near a full turn of the rachet - and tasted the grape seeds and skins that were left over. The hard work of growing and making wine is well worth it for such a good product as 5000 Vines red blend, which reflects its terroir beautifully.

I found a few more new photos to take around Le Couvent, trying to capture what I love so much about it, then walked a few steps away to the village church, L'Eglise St. Laurent (St. Lawrence). On our previous visit, I'd just managed to take a few shots there during a very brief lull in the otherwise incessant rain. This time - a dull day, weatherwise, but not yet wet -- I took a few shots, then a drizzle began.

I returned to Le Couvent - and half an hour later, headed back to the church at a very brisk pace, because the weather had completely turned around -- a gorgeous blue sky and scudding clouds. YES! Take a look, even if you're not a church fan - the war memorial is very moving, the gargoyles interesting, and the last photo in the set is one of my all-time favorites.

P and I splurged on a "last night" dinner at L'Auberge du Presbytère, a fine dining destination in the middle of nowhere (really -- look at these photos...). Similar to our meal at Fleurs d'Olargues a few days earlier, the food was imaginatively prepared and absolutely delicious. I wish I had photos to show you, but you'll just have to trust me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.