Flirting Tui

Today's blip is not technically my 'best' capture of the day but it shows something different from my previous blips of tuis. In all these earlier blips the tuis are looking their usual sleek selves:

Kowhai and Tui

Yet another tui

Tui in blossom

Sweet nectar tui

But in today's blip this guy is 'flirting' with a female. During the mating rituals the boys puff themselves up to make themsevles look bigger - apparently that's attractive to a girl tui. I would have loved to get her in the shot as well but she was just too far away.

This shot is also somewhat unusual in that he is perching on last seasons flax flowers. We see them every flax flowering season drinking the nectar from the flowers, but I've never seen one on a flax out of season. I guess in a flirting frenzy any perch will do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.