Free as a bird

By freebird

Special orchid

Phalaenopsis orchids are very popular and a favourite blip for many, but I couldn't resist taking this one today. This plant has a special place in our family as it was given to my mother-in-law by my youngest son N about eight years ago. When 'Mum' died it came to me and I've done my best to look after it ever since for its sentimental value. More often than not, it is blooming and it was looking its best today. Orchids are amazing and I have three of them - it's always very exciting when they throw up a flower spike and each day the buds get bigger and bigger until they burst open into these beautiful waxy flowers. They are truly wonders of the natural world.

My friend C and I went walking around Ferry Meadows today and because I had 'blipped' already, I didn't take my camera. Just goes to prove that you should always take your camera because the autumn colour was magnificent, especially around the lakes. I'm going back that way on Thursday so I'll drop by a capture it then - that will be another day's blip taken care of...

For the record: 16C, mainly cloudy. Better, even warmer day forecast for tomorrow. What a mild October it has been - all my tender container plants are still outside and blooming well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.