When I pushed the button

By lesault

Greyfriar's Kirk with Startrails

so, not a complete disaster of a blip tonight as I had expected.

I went to Greyfriars Kirkyard with the intention of trying a startrail photo of the castle, but it looked a bit cloudy in that direction so I decided the Kirk might make a good subject instead. I set up my tripod, then realised I hadn't brought a torch which made setting the camera correctly a bit more awkward. I eventually got the camera positioned and focussed as I wanted, and tried a test shot at 30" which looked fine. I then set my intervalometer to take a 30 second shot every 30 seconds so I would get nice smooth startrails whenI stacked the photos. Unfortunately, I forgot to set the camera to Bulb so ended up with a 30 second exposure every 60 seconds. I quite like the dotted line effect of the star trails though :)

Total exposure time a little over 1 hour.

View it large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.