Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Ello Ello Ello! 365

Back at Heathrow Terminal Five to meet Marianne. As arrivals halls go, it's a pretty good place to take the odd photo, as I've done before.

I saw this film crew set up and grabbed a few shots of them as I was having my cuppa in Costa. They looked at me a bit like proverbial rabbits caught in the headlights, which I thought was funny as they were using a great big film camera.

A few minutes later, I noticed a lot of aiport staff around, mooching, casting glances at me. "Here we go". Sure enough, one pulled me aside and asked me if I was a "Pap" When I said no, I'm meeting someone off a flight, he told me that if I was a pap, he'd have the police "All over me" Hmmm.

I'd been chatting to a couple of limo drivers waiting on their clients when I was first approached, so we were wondering if some star of stage & screen who wanted to be alone was going to put in an appearance. (Brian Cox wandered past just then, so I guess it wasn't him.)

Next thing a PCSO came to have a word. Apparently Mr Airport Security wasn't happy with my explanation, so the PCSO been called in to double check me. He was very polite and laid back, asked for my identification asked why I had the camera, what I was doing there and so on. By now, my waiting companions formed a Greek Chorus, wondering loudly about being thought guilty unless proven innocent, which added to the fun & games. The PCSO was just doing what he had to do, I was happy to show my ID so it was all fairly amicable. No mention of security or terrorism, just Papism (Nothing to do with the Pope, unless it was him who was the vip).

Anyhow, the film unit were probably employed by the airport as they'd done a short piece to camera and buggered off.
I never did find out if anyone worth papping was coming through or if security were just a bit bored. Not the 365th I'd envisaged! (I hadn't envisaged anything but what the heck - I'll take it!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.