Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Auctioneering

Went to the auction viewing today, on a whim. Only had a fiver in my pocket though so I was never intending to buy anything. I was more interested in the people there than the objects, too. I've been meaning to go to an auction for with my Granddad who dabbles in antiques and I've always wanted to know who goes to them. Imagine a room full of David Dickinsons, now, imagine the opposite and there you have it.

All prior exposure to auctions had been from daytime bargain hunt style TV shows like Flog-it. I thought everyone would either be wearing a red or a blue jumper. I think the dress-code for this one was brown, maybe? The whole hall was overwhelmingly brown, actually. A maze of brown furniture, lined with brown tables with brown boxes with brown leather items objects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.