Stravaiger

By stravaig

Edinburgh 99%ers

A snapshot of the Occupy Edinburgh protest.

You may only be able to see this on large view but I see from the tent in the foreground that even Cagney and Lacey get in on the act. I may be wrong but I guess this might only make sense to blippers of a certain generation. For those who don't know who Cagney and Lacey were then good old Google will doubtless shed some light on these characters. Quite why this connects with Occupy Edinburgh is, I'm afraid, way beyond my powers of comprehension and nobody I spoke to seemed to know either. Maybe the occupiers of the tent just liked Cagney and Lacey.

ps. For the short time I was there the protest was peaceful, good humoured and polite. A fair few people were asking them what this was all about. Their website is www.OccupyEdinburgh.org if you want to learn more about this.

One of the papers being handed out to passers by had an interesting quote which may have more than a grain of truth:

"The study of money, above all other fields in economics, is one in which complexity is used to disguise truth or to evade truth, not to reveal it" (John Kenneth Galbraith)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.