Aqua

I was using the shower very early this morning and was reminded about an article I'd been reading last night. I thought tonight I would use a blip-something-at-home-day to try out something from the photo magazine, after all, why buy them if you're not going to challenge yourself to try stuff.

It was a bit scary balancing the tripod on the narrow edge of the bath and it was the first time I'd needed to invert the centre column so that my camera was held directly over the water. I suppose this gave the most round shape to the ripples.

I used burst on the remote shutter release with the camera settings on manual and the lens switched to manual focus, calculated by putting a nail brush into the bath and setting the focus on it.

The article said use a sponge to drip water but this was very messy so I used a spray gun instead. I think a squirty bottle would have been even better. Anyhow! One thing that can be improved upon is the lighting. Not a good idea to take the B & Q bendy neck lamp into the bathroom!

I'm off to make an addition to Santa's list: an off-the-camera flash gun. It would have enabled me to catch the ripples more sharply and the side light would have given them more definition and enable me to reduce the ISO.

Any other improvements welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.