Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Splash!!

It was raining all day here. This is the water splashing off the roof of the school.

I took a few 'seasonal' pics of something called zong zi. I used the point and shoot and then left it at school.

It is the Dragon Boat Festival here in China. It celebrates the famous poet Chu Yuan who, a long time ago was sick of the king not heeding his advice and threw himself the river and drowned. The people loved Chu Yuan and didn't want the fish to eat his body so they threw zong ze in the river so they fish would eat those instead. The festival is celebrated with Dragon Boat Races all over China. Unfortunately, none here in Shenyang.

Zong Zi is made from sticky rice that covers a date and is made into a triangle shape and wrapped in bamboo leaves. It is dipped in sugar and then eaten. I am sure I will see more before the festival is finished so I will try to blip one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.