La vida de Annie

By Annie

Autumn colour...

... at last. Absolutely wiped after yesterday's little adventure, so didn't venture out far today. This was taken from the gate, looking down the road, which at this time of year becomes a colourful tunnel formed of overhanging trees. The intermittent rain really brightened up the hues. It seems no time at all since the leaves were green.

Africa was orange today.

I was twenty-one years when I wrote this song.
I'm twenty-two now but I won't be for long
Time hurries on.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Once my heart was filled with the love of a girl.
I held her close, but she faded in the night
Like a poem I meant to write.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

I threw a pebble in a brook
And watched the ripples run away
And they never made a sound.
And the leaves that are green turned to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello,
Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye,
That's all there is.
And the leaves that are green turned to brown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.