Half done

I was so struck yesterday by how the picture I took of Murron made me feel. It was a real lump in the throat moment. Somehow using the empty picture frame to catch her reflection felt quite poignant. It's just an old frame that I took out of the cupboard to measure for a mount. I've used it before, in fact had quite a run of these kinds of image and then like many things forgot about it. I like that it is making me think, about why her reflection feels like a memory before it becomes one and how the frame acts as an intermediary between us. Anyway, I put it in her bedroom whilst she was having a bath. I always plait her hair when it's wet and here it's half done. She's waiting for me to come back and finish the other side. Scout curled up in her lap. I would probably never have taken this were it not for how that empty frame made me feel. I'm glad I did because the whole plaits ritual will one day stop and this will be my memory of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.