The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Cley Spy With My Little Eye

Look! Look!

The outside world!

The painkillers have kicked in, and slowly as the day passed I started to get my movement back!

Eventually I built up the courage to get out! We decided to go to the local butchers to get some of the black treacle bacon that has been recommended to us. We are having that for breakfast tomorrow. We also picked up a pork pie and one of the nicest Scotch Eggs I have ever eaten.

The butcher was one of the friendliest people I have ever met. Dawn had already told him about my predicament, so when I walked in he immediately shook my hand! He told me to enjoy the rest of my honeymoon now!

Well I took him at his word, and we drove to the coast, and got to Cley and Salthouse an hour before sunset.

We managed to see four Marsh Harriers circling low over the salt marsh in the golden setting sun.

A large flock of geese, easily pushing a thousand took off from a distant lagoon.

A decent sized murmuration of starlings grew in front of the Cley Visitor Centre (pictured).

All in all quite romantic, and quite magical.

We managed to salvage something out of this emotional week!

Year lists, life lists, they can wait until another visit! We managed to get the moment we came for ... I couldn't ask for more than that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.