While on my runs

By waipushrink

Auckland Harbour Bridge

This morning I enjoyed a run through Auckland Domain and then circling around to pass through the University grounds and then Albert Park before heading home.

Just after I went into the Domain, I became aware of many many cars, and lots of people walking across the fields towards the Pavilion. In front of the Pavilion was a reasonable size crowd for not long after 6 am. So when I saw someone close enough to speak with, I asked her what was going on this morning. She replied brightly (and sounding as if it was positive) "Boot Camp".

Feeling slightly unnerved that so many people voluntarily submit to abusive behaviour by someone they are paying to get them fit, I carried on. To find two more groups on other fields each also under the instructions of one person. I heard one bellow out "You've got one minute guys". They were headed my way so I hurried off to safety. I lacked the nerve to get photographic evidence.

Towards the end of my run, this view of the Auckland Harbour Bridge presented itself, demanding to be photographed. The different road levels and angles, and the bridge itself appeal, and even more so does the crowded Westhaven Marina, which has featured at closer range on a number of occasions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.