Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Many-Layered Thng

"the mind is a complex and many-layered thing, Potter ... or at least, most minds are.."

- J.K. Rowling.


Took my long lens today. Spied this little Noisy Miner as I was leaving work, and I liked this shot.

In Filterstorm Pro I sharpened it a bit, but then, as I'm testing the new beta, I was messing around with layers seeing what would happen. I know nothing about layers, so was working completely blind. I duplicated the main layer, applied "autoexposure" then changed the blending method to multiply. Suddenly the picture kind of "popped" (at least, once I reduced the opacity of the auto-exposure layer to about half; above that the result was a bit too dark).

So now I really need to learn about layers ;-)

Large version here.
Unprocessed version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.