Do Something !!!

By DoSomething

Cake Disaster!

For some reason my Lemon Marmalade Cake rose up and ou of its tin this afternoon. Normally this wouldn't have been a problem (it's never happened before), just a bit of cleaning up to do (and goodness knows my oven needs it anyway!), but it chose to drip right off the back of the shelf and onto the thermocouple and the end of the gas burner, putting out the flame....
I didn't discover it for some time, the cake was cooked-ish round the outside and risen but still liquid in the middle and the tin was cool enough to hold in my fingers. So, cake out, shelves out, what heat there was left out, scrape scrape scrape, get it re-lit, everything back in (cake still risen)...but when it was finally cooked in the middle it had sunk and it was burnt round all the edges :-[
Trimmed off the worst of the burnt and glazed it....better than no pudding at all I say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.