The Daily Bun

By pennybun

A new walking project

I managed to get hold of some "unobtainable" leaflets which describe the Rotherham Ring Route. I've done Barnsley Boundary Walk, and Sheffield Country Walk (twice) so following our completion of the Cuckoo Way, this seemed the obvious candidate. The leaflets and the walk itself is in the process of being revised, but it's a slow job, so I wanted to just go for it as it stood. It's a 50 mile walk in 10 sections. I've already covered some of the ground, so there will be some revisiting, but also a few new areas to explore. Today's section was not a wildly auspicious start, but the route did have to negotiate the M1 and the Sheffield Parkway, so I suppose that limited the options somewhat. The later part of the walk was very pleasant, as I knew it would be, passing Treeton Dyke. where there are plenty of waterfowl to be seen, and the weather was far better than it should have been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.