Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Edelweiss

I have had 2 days of chaperoning backstage at auditions for the Sound of Music and I am suffering from adrenaline overload.

Even the most rehearsed and experienced people suffer a minor mental breakdown in the 5 minutes leading up to auditions so I have spent most of the last 2 evenings trying to get people to stop shaking with fear and to breath deeply. I guess it's a bit sadistic on my part but I love the creative tension that auditions generate. Everyone is so scared they have trouble remembering their own name but as soon as they step onto the stage they transform into seasoned pros and act and sing wonderfully.

Good luck to all of them !

This is a hopeful auditionee for Capt. Von Trapp practising Edelweiss on the guitar (which he learned to play in the 2 week leading up to the auditions! )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.