Encontrando el Mundo

By Mari

THE STROKES

This is the concert I've been waiting for since I arrived in Argentina. Seeing posters advertising that the Strokes were coming to town for Personal Fest, it was the ONE thing I had to do while here. And it was the best time I ever had C:

When I first got to Personal Fest I made my way straight towards the stage, about ten minutes after I arrived, the Strokes went on...and all hell broke loose. With the first screams and the first rush, the first push, I immediately lost my headband. It was torn right off my head; every man or woman for themselves! And it didn't get any better after that, throughout the concert there was an ebb and flow of people all pushing together, pushing in closer and closer to the stage, and then all those in front pushing back, haha :) At first I was freaked out because I couldn't breathe, both straps were snapped off my shirt with people jumping pushing and climbing over each other. But no worries, I tied my straps as a halter top on kept on. As time went on, you'd find moments when you weren't crushed, when the cold air blew through the crowd and you had a momentary relief. You took a deep breathe and prepared for the next wave. Eventually it all became comfortable, more or less. Resting my elbow on the shoulder of whoever was in front of me at the time, I filmed pieces of the show. When there was even any little bit of give in the crowd in front of you, you went for it. Digging elbows in here and there you made your way closer and closer. I got so close to the fence, blocking our section from the one in front. It was one of the best moments of my life. Laughing at the ridiculousness of it, being psyched and singing along with all the Argentinians, some who knew the words even better than me. So psyched I was there, can't wait for Day 2 tomorrow!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.