CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

THE THIRD THING

1. On Thursday night, when I had a dining room full of the Wild Girls eating pies, the hot water tap in my kitchen stopped working. I don't have a dishwasher, so was not best pleased.

2. Yesterday morning we found water dripping through the ceiling of one of the top floor bedrooms. A shouting row with the roofer who'd replaced the roof eight years ago ensued, during which he told me he'd retired, had no money, and anyway he remembered that he'd done the job at least ten years ago. (I knew he'd wound up the business owing to falling off scaffolding - evidently onto his head, judging by the conversation - but had phoned to ask politely who to contact.) I hate shouting rows, and I hate dripping ceilings and broken hot taps so it wasn't a good start to the day - but B, bless him, fixed both problems, only getting slightly soaked to the skin twice in the process.

Ha ha, these things usually come in threes, we laughed. What could be next?

3. And look at my fridge today! I was only feeling smug about it two days ago because it's 15 years old and has never been a bother, and now it's doing something horrible. I think we'll be forced to eat its contents all in one go tonight.

Because I'm so mature and grown up and have never seen the warning symbol on the right before on this display, I'm sniggering a bit, too.

ALSO: Many thanks for all the lovely comments and messages on my 100th yesterday! I love you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.