The Wren

By TheWren

Paws for thought

Magical day. Frost last night, cold but with blue sky and sunshine this morning - had to go for a long walk!

This is a favourite haunt, alongside the River Earn, but I have not been here for a while as the weather has been so grey and wet. Today was different. Both Cara and Bruce took off and immediately went into the cold water for a quick swim before continuing onwards - then Bruce was so excited with the change of walk with its new smells that he went AWOL. Retracing my steps I passed three sets of people, all of whom had seen him, realised he was an escapee but failed in their attempts to catch him. I eventually found him and he was so delighted to see me, all wags and wiggles! I continued on the walk, with Bruce on the lead for a bit until I felt he was settled, and then began to relax and take in all the colours and sounds around me. The river was quite full following the recent weeks of rain and therefore running quite fast. However I knew there would be a calm stretch near the end of the walk where the river takes a big sweep and I think it must also be quite deep here. When we found it both Cara and Bruce joined me in a bit of quiet time and a wee snack.

On the way back Bruce decided to go off piste again, this time within sight of me but totally out of reach due to some boggy areas between us! Eventually we were reunited after some undignified scrambling amongst damp undergrowth on my part and now both dogs are sound asleep having had a really fabulous run - especially Bruce! Do all spaniels have selective hearing when they are on the scent of something exciting?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.