8:30

By eightthirty

new life, old life

8:30am (makes a change) and the view out of our spare bedroom window.

I loved being away last week. It was great to be in fresh air, surrounded by trees and not feel drawn to do *stuff* around the house. But I have loved coming home and appreciating our house all the more. So grateful for a roof over our heads and warm beds to sleep in.

This morning I've been playing with the weeWeir in her room for a bit, but came through to open the curtains as the colour spilling past the blind looked interesting. This was why. It's not the sunrise (an hour too late) and it's not the most picturesque vista, but it's bright.

I love the light of this time of year. The way the brightness pierces the sky and fights off the gloom that often permeates the atmosphere at this time in the calendar. While autumn is often seen as a time of decline or sadness, I find it full of life. Of the possible.

New life will mostly only come when something else lets go of its life.

Unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.
From here.

Which is more than a little counter-cultural. We are bred to consume new and keep the old too. But as I have noticed this week, I can't keep consuming unless I give up something else. I'm liable to pop if I don't stop.

++++

I'd written this better the first time, but seem to have missed the vital *publish* part of the process, so that's it for now...

====

This is the last in a the series of back blips:

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday (300!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.