A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

Yes folks, we have a PAIR OF PEARS, twinnies, one of which is out of shot(for artistic reasons only) but nevertheless is alive and kicking!Sounds as if we should be CONGRATULATED!!!!
I fully intended taking a shot today of the furniture van arriving with hubby's long awaited delivery for his office, or perhaps of him screaming with delight when they opened the rear doors of the van(yes , he IS prone to such behaviour.I believe it is called 'REGRESSION' and it accompanies his ever mounting number of 'SENIOR MOMENTS!')
Yesterday, I managed to capture some lovely shots of our little pear tree bearing yes ,' a pair of pears' but due to the stringent rules laid down by Blipfoto, I am unable to use them today.I loved the way the fullness of the fruit stood strong against the starkness of the branches.
A crop earlier in the year, when the tree was in its full glory, provided us with enough pies, crumbles and purees to last us through the cold months of Winter.Such a contrast to now.
I look at these two lonesome specimens and they immediately remind me of two tiny babies , late developers ,who are clinging to life, while their comfort blankets fall to their feet.They are our little survivors and I am proud of them. Maybe 'congratulations' IS the order of the day.
As a result, I rose with the break of day and went out into the garden to try to re-capture yesterdays shot.The frost was hard on the ground, so I hoped for some good pictures. On reviewing them, I was disappointed - no clear blue sky, no strength of colour ,unflattering angles.My babies looked cold and lonely in the cool light of day.An hour later, the sun was high in the sky and I headed back out.This is the result.
I wish I could remember what variety they are.They don't look particularly appetising but are the sweetest little things you have ever tasted.
I looked up PEARS on Google and was surprised to read thefollowing:
Pears are members of the ROSE family and are related to the apple and the quince.
Juicy and sweet, with a soft, buttery yet somewhat grainy texture, the white to cream-colored flesh of pears was once referred to as the "gift of the gods". Although the season for pears runs from August through October, there is a variety of pear available year-round because of the seasonal variations amongst the different varieties .
Our little tree may not bear fruit all the year round but our two little beauties certainly are 'THE GIFT OF THE GODS!'


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.