The Wren

By TheWren

downy blanket

There were many things I thought blip might do for me but I never realised it would be responsible for getting me up and out early in the morning - but this today was my reward.

Another heavy frost with the morning developing into sunny blue skies, albeit still cold. The dogs were thrilled to be on the go so early and once we had climbed to the top of of "our" hill we were enthralled by the above scene and watched as the low cloud moved in and out of the valleys covering everything underneath with its soft downy blanket, with trees appearing and then disappearing in slow motion as we watched. Both Ben Vorlich and Ben More can be seen clearly which is a great bonus as the past month they have almost always been completely hidden from view by the heavy grey mists and rain clouds. The next few days are forecast to be wet so I'm delighted I have this record of how it can look!

I looked again at my mushrooms from yesterday's blip and decided that they probably were indeed funnel mushrooms as although the smaller ones were flat topped, the larger had become deeply funnelled. Thank you mikewithmg.

Now that I am back home, fog has settled over the valley and it is really very cold and uninviting outside. This evening I am back at dog training with Cara, having missed it for a few weeks during our holiday, so it will be interesting to see if she still remembers her exercises. She is preparing for the Kennel Club Silver Certificate. Unfortunately, as I can only manage one dog at a time, poor Bruce gets his training by default!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.