Notebooker

By Notebooker

Situations vacant

After spending a morning filling in job applications, I needed a break and set out for a walk. I ended up at the redundant and mostly demolished Chorley and District Hygienic Laundry on Harpers Lane (a site not unlike the state of my career!!).

Peering through the security fence, I took this photo. Other photos and a picture of the same doorway in 1910 can be seen if you scroll down to the bottom of this page from Chorley Historical Society.

I can only imagine the number of Chorley people who have been employed in this laundry over the years. Actually, I used to know someone who worked there in the 1980s.

When I got home I had an email reply to an application I submitted this morning inviting me in for an interview. My career, unlike the laundry, is perhaps not so derelict after all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.