I Follow Rivers

By EmilyHutchison

Lest We Forget

There was a remembrance ceremony taking place in Edinburgh today at the foot of the Scotts monument with thousands of crosses to commemorate those fighting for their country.
The section for those killed in action in Afghanistan held personal significance for me. My best friend is in the Marines and being deported there in March. He'll have been 18 for less than a month. My other best friend's brother has already been to Afghanistan, is currently in Kenya and being sent back to Afghanistan in March. He has a two year old daughter and is only 22.
I'm so proud of them both but those six months are going to be impossibly hard. So look after yourselves and come home safe - I never want to see your faces in a place like this. I love you both and don't you dare do anything stupid! You're already our heroes and we don't need anymore proof! <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.