shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

On top of the world

Had a lovely day today, walked the dog up to and then along Loch Tanna, the largest loch on Arran, which is reached by following Catacol Burn right up Catacol Glen. Part of the joy was the fact that apart from 1 man out walking his dogs in the lower part of the glen I saw no-one the whole time I was out, I love that absolute peace and quiet from time to time. See here for the Google satellite map, Loch Tanna is pretty obvious, long and thin and to the right of Pirnmill. We left not long after 10 and got back at about 5:30 (in the dark!), so Mum was a wee bit worried, I'd miscalculated how long it would take to come back, so didn't leave enough time. The weather was beautiful, bright blue skies all the way up, and then into the mist on the way back down the glen. I spent most of the day in a t-shirt - and it's November! I'm still going through my hundreds of photos, but I really loved this one. The dog had a lovely time as pretty much the whole way from the foot of Catacol Glen it is one big peat bog, so lots and lots of mud. She did paddle in the loch (it's not really deep enough to swim in, not that she would have anyway, no point in going into clean water!).

I am working tomorrow, my excuse for being down this week, I'm speaking at Lamlash church Guild about TLM's work in Bangladesh, so I hope that goes well. I'm making my way around the island one Guild each year, this is number 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.